My breakfast at Shades in Ocean Beach

Well, I didn’t name the blog the “Wandering Palate” because I like to stay put …

My last post was about the U.S. Botanic Garden in Washington, D.C., to which I’ve been twice (once in May 2008 and the second time in July 2009). In this post, I’m recollecting a breakfast spot on the opposite coast. In San Diego, to be more precise. When we were in San Diego in March, a family friend took me to breakfast at Shades in Ocean Beach. I think it’s a popular breakfast spot. Admittedly, many people have been to the restaurant more often than I have. Many people have tried more menu items than I have.

But let me recommend the one I had: the Calamari Benedict. The menu described it this way: “Our famous Eggs Benedict with a tender, breaded, grilled Calamari steak in place of the traditional Canadian bacon.” Charlie’s the eggs benedict lover in our family, but I’ve always liked the dish from the tastes off his plate that I’ve had. What sold me on ordering this, however, was the promise of calamari steak.

The texture took some getting used to because there was just so much calamari. I’m not complaining! But the hollandaise was rich and creamy. The coffee was good and the view is wonderful. Try it, if you’re in the area.