Während meines Deutschen Kurses versuche ich, nur auf deutsch zu sprechen. Natürlich kann ich nicht allzeit das tun, weil ich geheiratet bin und mein geliebter Ehemann kein Deutsch spricht. Mein Blog wird auch auf englisch sein, weil die meisten meiner Familie und Freunde amerikanisch sind. Aber ich werde probieren, etwas Deutsches für jedes Post zu schreiben. Vielleicht am endes werde ich mehr dabei lernen.

The doorway to the Goethe-Institut-Berlin

The doorway to the Goethe-Institut-Berlin

So, above was my current philosophy of blog posting. It went a little something like this: During my German course I’m trying to only speak in German. Naturally, I can’t do that all the time, since I’m married and my beloved husband doesn’t speak any German. My blog will also (and mostly) be in English, because most of my family and friends are Americans. But I’ll try to write something in German for every post. Perhaps by the end I’ll have learned more by so doing.

That means, while I’m at the Goethe-Institut-Berlin, I am trying as best I can to speak only German, to really make this immersion an immersion. So, if you want to read my blog regularly, I’ll probably throw in some distracting German. If you’re not a German-reader, just look further down. Don’t be discouraged: there’ll be information for you too! … Just not with as many guttural sounds to be had. And for that, the English language needs to apologize.

Is it just me, or does that look like a personalized greeting to one special Frau Kara??

Is it just me, or does that look like a personalized greeting to one special Frau Kara??